Support the ongoing development of Laravel.io →
Architecture
Last updated 1 year ago.

If Taylor follows his regular release schedule, v5.0 will be released some time in November, possibly around one week after Symfony 2.6 is released.

Last updated 1 year ago.

Thanks, i'm a cakephp developer around 5 year. But around five month ago starting to try somethings with Laravel.

Last updated 1 year ago.

I'm completely new to Laravel, currently testing some things with the developer version of Laravel 5. Do you think it's worth to wait for the new version? I would like to finish one of my projects with the Laravel framework, so I could also take the stable Laravel 4 version and upgrade at later time. But there seems to be a lot of changes between 4 and 5 :-(

Last updated 1 year ago.

If you're just starting a new project that will take a while, I'd probably start with version 5, if you can live with breaking changes from time to time. It should get finalized in the coming weeks.

Last updated 1 year ago.

It could possible be delayed still. All depends if everything Taylor wants to complete gets done on time: https://twitter.com/taylorotwell/status/520293875772977152

Last updated 1 year ago.

michaeljk said:

I'm completely new to Laravel, currently testing some things with the developer version of Laravel 5. Do you think it's worth to wait for the new version? I would like to finish one of my projects with the Laravel framework, so I could also take the stable Laravel 4 version and upgrade at later time. But there seems to be a lot of changes between 4 and 5 :-(

There is a ton of changes between 4 and 5, with the majority of them positively accepted by all (boo Route Annotations). If you can wait 2 months or so to get something into production, wait for 5. The backbone of 5 is well worth the wait.

Last updated 1 year ago.