Support the ongoing development of Laravel.io →
Database Architecture Jobs
Last updated 1 year ago.

You have already experience in php that's a plus point but don't abandon it. Learn some other skills like node and python it will help you in long term. I like php b'coz it get thing done quickly with ( php has saved me many times ). I am self taught and in three years i have tried many technologies like dot net, java, python. Like it or not php is better. I personally hate java b'coz what i can do i 10 lines of code in python for same thing i need to write atleast 30-40 line of java code.

Just learn something more that will help you in long run.

Keep applying - the decent jobs are out there if you have the skills - the problem with PHP is there are so many developers (and script kiddies that call themselves developers) that it is very competitive. Failing that there is a ton of freelance work available and you get to be your own boss :)

I get your feeling.

It is true that PHP does have a lot of weaknesses and have a bad reputation of having handful of PHP amateurs code in a not so practical way due to its loose coding style. The lack of security awareness leads to many security vulnerabilities to the public. But these are not entirely PHP's fault, right?

Tho one thing to point out, as a developer, one should never categorize him/herself specifically to a certain language, aka "XXX developer". You are not limited to use only one language, pick the one you are most comfortable with and the most suitable for the project you are currently on.

Just curious: what makes you all of a sudden start to hate PHP?

Honestly you just sound like an horrible arrogant guy trying to find excuses for his failures.

I used to stay 2nd ranker in my college.

Overall doesn't mean shit.

I kept getting EASY, NO CHALLENGING projects which lead me NO GROWTH in career thus far.

Then find another job and take personal projects. It's not challenging ones that are lacking, PHP or not.