Support the ongoing development of Laravel.io →
Configuration Packages
Last updated 1 year ago.

Hey Panoply

I'm also new to Laravel, so i'm just trying to give you answers out of my mind, please correct me if i'm wrong.

1. I personally have a Root Server which allows me to setup everything. Other than that you should be able to run it on any Webserver, keep in mind: You should use PHP 5.5, the mcrypt extension must be available. 2-4. AFAIK you can just upload everything into your root directory and then point your Domain to the public folder. Afterwards you may edit your .htaccess to fit your setup.
  2. You can do it simply by using FTP or you pull it from your Remote Git Repository directly into your root folder. By doing this, you could just update your site once you've edited something.

Let me know if i was helpful in some way :)

Have a nice day!

Last updated 1 year ago.

Thanks for your response. I might take the git option and if you could clarify, the upload would include my vender folder?

Last updated 1 year ago.

Yes, include everything, even the vendor folder :)

Have a nice day!

Last updated 1 year ago.

Pushing your vendor folder is not good practice. Your vendor folder contains repository code which is frequently updated and improved. For that reason you should always try to keep it out of your git repo and run composer update on your production server instead. You'll also save a lot of time when pulling a repo without the vendor folder.

A good approach is to write a small deployment-script together with environment-specific configurations. The goal is to pull in the latest changes from your git repository without breaking your site.

An example of such a script would be something like this; Pastebin - 6oPE (not tested). Create a new file on your webserver, name it "deploy" and do chmod +x deploy. Use it like this;

// First run, which clones the repository
$ php deploy first-run