Support the ongoing development of Laravel.io →
posted 10 years ago
Laravel.io
Last updated 1 year ago.

I've been using Vim for about 2 years now, mostly because I can't figure out how to exit it.

Last updated 1 year ago.

keevitaja said:

I've been using Vim for about 2 years now, mostly because I can't figure out how to exit it.

Hah! Yeah. Vim does seem to stand the test of time, and is definitely stupid powerful.

I've always had it in the back of my mind, but feel there's too big a learning curve and requires quite a time investment since it's so different and so specific compared to other editors.

May be worth it though.

Last updated 1 year ago.

Vim only looks intimidating. If you have the wits to manage learning to code and leverage frameworks such as Laravel, you certainly have my confidence of your ability to learn to use vim. I think you'll enjoy the number of plugins and extensibility.

Regarding PHPStorm; I've had generally good success with it on Mint. It isn't by any means fast, but workable.

Last updated 1 year ago.

I program almost exclusively with PHPStorm and every so often with Sublime Text when all I need is a text editor.

Last updated 1 year ago.

@RowdyElectron,

Do you know of any decent guides to get going with vim as more than a 'simple' text editor? I mean for things like themes, sidebar trees, git statuses, etc.

Last updated 1 year ago.

Seems to be very uncool to say this around here, but i like Netbeans.

Last updated 1 year ago.

Maybe Komodo Edit is an option? http://komodoide.com/komodo-edit/

Last updated 1 year ago.

I use kate now. It works fine

Last updated 1 year ago.

mattiaswirf said:

Maybe Komodo Edit is an option? http://komodoide.com/komodo-edit/

i used it on my windows years ago... it was ok!

Last updated 1 year ago.

Vim user here

Tried Sublime, Textmate, and a few others. Always end up back at Vim

Last updated 1 year ago.