Support the ongoing development of Laravel.io →
Installation Configuration
Last updated 1 year ago.

I'm assuming this is basic FTP access? You may wish to look for a better hosting solution and maybe some revision control else you are probably stuck, and changing paths is probably be the way forward. I have no idea how to achieve what you are after.

Try https://forge.laravel.com/ and if you have no revision control look into https://github.com/

Thanks jacksoncharles.

My question then would be, why would a developer create a project in Laravel if it cannot be published? Surely the aim is not to forever remain as a localhost app on a personal computer - right?

As I say, I'm new to Laravel so perhaps I'm missing something!

I think the issue is with your hosting package, not Laravel. Probably can be published on your current solution but I suggest your development skills have outgrown your hosting solution.

I take that as a compliment ;)

Thanks for your input jacksoncharles. Am I right in assuming then that Laravel based sites are deployed through something like Git?

Pretty much clintbarron. Push code with git then pull in dependencies with composer, maybe some post-hooks to execute any migrations and so on. Copy/pasting code through FTP is behind you :)

I haven't tried it myself, but you should be able to change public path in bootstrap/paths.php from

'public' => __DIR__.'/../public',
// to
'public' => __DIR__.'/../public_html',

and rename the folder as well. There could be something else you'd have to do but it's worth a shot.

Right here on this very forum there was recently a very detailed answer to this very question. Either search or scroll through and you'll probably see it. Again it was very very detailed in exactly what to do. I saved this part from thread:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/16683046/how-to-install-lar...

I didn't save the laravel thread sorry.

Last updated 9 years ago.